forum: Campaigns and Community

Subscribe to forums RSS

#1 Thu 22 Jan 09 7:10pm

marge37

Member since Thu 22 Jan 09

Weight Watchers? I've worked out the points for my fav recipes

Bought the Minstry of Food book just over a week ago when I'd read my friends.  I've been really impressed with it.

I'm a fairly good cook and like experimenting with food.  Jamie's book is fab, really easy to follow and simple.  Every recipe I've tried has been great.  I'm trying to watch my weight at the moment so was a little worried about the fat content, so I've worked out the Weight Watchers points for my favourite recipes substituting certain ingredients where I can for alternative lower fat options ie. cutting out the knobs of butter, replacing cream with creme fraiche and reducing the parmasen cheese portions (I can safely say the taste has not been compromised).

Would be interested to hear if others have followed suit. 

I didn't watch the Minstry of Food show but am glad I've found the book.  I've recommended it to so many of my friends already and we're planning to have a cookalong evening in February.

Well done Jamie

Likes (0)

#2 Thu 22 Jan 09 7:26pm

MsPablo

Forum super champ
Occupation Just being me
Member since Fri 28 Mar 08

Re: Weight Watchers? I've worked out the points for my fav recipes

There have been questions lately about Weight Watcher's points for Jamie's recipes.

Where are you located?  Creme fraiche in France that I have seen is 30% or 40% fat, the lowfat was 20% fat.

I sometimes will put nonfat evaporated milk into a sauce, yogurt or sour cream (low or nonfat) and I take measures to avoid the sauce breaking.  I'd rather get the benefits of the dairy and not leave it out and I find it handled well, I don't really miss the texture of the fat content.

Good luck with your diet!  Share ideas, even for those who aren't trying to reduce their weight, it's nice to have some lower fat options.

Likes (0)

#3 Thu 22 Jan 09 7:31pm

Katja

Forum champ