Jamie Oliver

forum: Everything else

Subscribe to forums RSS

#1 Fri 02 May 14 11:23am

JAW

Member since Sat 16 Jul 11

Career Advice!

Hi guys,

I studied photography and journalism at uni, where I was struck with the cooking bug. I decided food writing seemed a good direction to head in, so got relevant work experience at magazines, with freelancers etc.

When I finished my degree (summer 2012) I couldn't get any Journalism jobs, so I started photographing food, which thus far hasn't proved much easier in terms of employment.

I have now been offered a year's apprenticeship as a chef, which would mean giving up the photography (for the moment at least) and a messy CV (will this put future employers off?), but obviously I would gain knowledge and experience in the food world. The alternative would seem to be to get a low down job in a publishing/PR company and hopefully work my way up to a writing/picture desk position...

What should I do? Thoughts appreciated!

Last edited by JAW (Fri 02 May 14 11:24am)

Likes (0)

#2 Sat 03 May 14 11:11pm

mummza

Forum super champ
Occupation avoiding housework
From The land of song.
Member since Tue 04 Oct 05

Re: Career Advice!

Its hard to give advice as to what you should do , which you should choose , how your career might progress etc .

But I do think it would be a good idea if you should start a food blog of some sort because this would give you a good outlet for your food photography and also I'm sure you'd be very good at a blog because of your journalism experience.

Likes (0)

#3 Sun 04 May 14 12:16am

JoyYamDaisy

Forum super champ
From Melbourne Australia
Member since Sun 12 Apr 09

It sounds like you are young enough that whichever you choose will be a great experience, and help you work out your future direction.
From what I understand, the apprentice chef work can be all the boring, gruelling bits, so it will depend very much on the place you are working, and the people you are working with.