gluten-free_mushroom-stroganoff

Gluten-free

Many people adopt a gluten-free diet for a variety of different reasons. Gluten-containing foods make up a key part of our diets and many are a key source of essential nutrients in our diets. It is important to understand where gluten-free diets apply and why some people have to follow them.

Many people adopt a gluten-free diet for a variety of different reasons. Gluten-containing foods make up a key part of our diets and many are a key source of essential nutrients in our diets. It is important to understand where gluten-free diets apply and why some people have to follow them.

Gluten-free recipes

WHAT IS GLUTEN INTOLERANT?

Gluten is a protein found in three different types of cereal: wheat, barley and rye. Traces of gluten can also be found in oats. People who suffer from coeliac disease, an autoimmune disease caused by an intolerance to gluten, is one of the main reasons people follow a gluten-free diet. Gluten intolerance also exists; a condition where people experience negative reactions to gluten without having coeliac disease.

GLUTEN FREE FOODS


Naturally gluten-free foods include meat, fish, fruit and veg, rice, potatoes, beans and pulses and dairy foods such as milk, yogurt, unprocessed cheeses etc. There are also many specially designed gluten-free replacements for commonly consumed foods or ingredients which naturally contain gluten e.g. gluten-free plain flour, gluten-free breads, gluten-free pastas etc.

COELIC DISEASE


Because coeliac disease is a digestive condition, the nutritional deficiencies associated with it are varied. It’s important that people on a gluten-free diet consult their doctor to ensure any deficiencies are addressed. Making sure your diet is as balanced as possible and includes a variety of gluten-free foods as well as plenty of fruit and vegetables will help reduce your risk of nutrient deficiency.

More gluten-free inspiration

All of our gluten-free recipes exclude ingredients deemed by the NHS to be unsafe for people who suffer from coeliac disease, an autoimmune disease caused by intolerance to gluten. Foods that contain wheat, barley, rye and oats (i.e. bread, pasta, cereals, biscuits, crackers, cakes, pastries and pies) have been excluded from this category, as have foods that can contain flour. These include sausages, mustards, stock cubes, soy sauces, shredded suet and malt vinegar. We advise those who follow a gluten-free diet to always check food labels thoroughly, as even some additives can contain gluten.

Load More

Sorry, couldn't find anything.