forum: Food & Drink

Subscribe to forums RSS

#1 Mon 22 Jan 07 6:18pm

ska

Member since Mon 22 Jan 07

Chicken maryland recipe (jamies dinners)

Hey there, i was just wondering if anyone has any advice for me.  Im a student and not too good at the cooking (but improving...i hope!). 
Whenever i cook im cooking for about 5 people.

So when i was looking through Jamies Dinners, i saw the recipe for the 'tray baked chicken maryland' and thought it would make a great dinner, except for one thing.  That is, i really dont like bananas.  Most things i dont like i will still eat, but bananas is one of the few i wont.  I was thinking maybe there is an alternative to using the bananas (it says to put the bananas in the chicken breasts before cooking) but im not sure if anything else will work?  Im fairly inexperienced with cooking so hopefully someone else can help me as i dont have a clue what i could use as a substitute! Thanks :)

Likes (0)

#2 Tue 23 Jan 07 1:39am

Tanya

Forum champ
From Scotland
Member since Thu 15 Jul 04

Re: Chicken maryland recipe (jamies dinners)

Hello ska, welcome.

Banana is traditionally served with Chicken Maryland, but how about trying Mango.  It is soft and squidgy like banana, and although the flavour will be different, I think it would work.

Just a thought!!!

Likes (0)

#3 Tue 23 Jan 07 3:41am

Cindy

Forum champ
Occupation Registered Nurse
From Adelaide, OZ
Member since Tue 03 Aug 04

This is an amazing recipe and there is not much substitute for bananas.

The banana flavour is not all that strong in this and just compliments and enhances the flavours of everything else.

My advice is to try it, just give it a go and you may be pleasantly surprised. Even if you don't like bananas, please try it.