Subscribe to forums RSS

#1 Tue 17 Apr 07 12:57am

natindahat

Occupation Student
From Australia
Member since Thu 12 Apr 07

Different kinds of oils

Hey guys!

im pretty new to cooking, and i really like Jamies recipies, i find that he uses oil in most of his recipies and i hear that it can be a really healthy alternative. So when im shopping, i found all these different oils and that just left me confused. Theres like Virgin, extra virgin, cooking oil, peanut oil, vegetable oil etc, what oils are best to use in salads and dressings? and can anyone tell me what oils are better for you, and which are high in fat?
Thanks big_smile

Likes (0)

#2 Tue 17 Apr 07 1:44am

WaiferThinMint

Occupation Student, Chef on the side
From Philadelphia, PA, USA
Member since Tue 22 Jun 04

Re: Different kinds of oils

All oils have the same amount of fat, 120 kilocalories per tablespoon.

However, the nature of this fat is where the flavor and health differentials occur.  There are three primary types of fat: 1) Saturated, 2) monounsaturated, and 3) polyunsaturated.  There is also transfat, though that is somewhat different,  and will be discussed at the bottom of the post.

Saturated fats.

These fats tend to be the worst of the three non-industrial fats for health.  They tend to come from animal products, such as bacon, butter, salt pork, beef tallow, etc.  They are generally solid at room temperature and tend to have the longest shelf life of all fats.  The flavor of most saturated fats are bold and (when used wisely) add greatly to the dish.

Monounsaturated Fats