Jamie Oliver

forum: Food & Drink

Subscribe to forums RSS

#1 Sun 19 Aug 07 12:12am

slack alice

Member since Sat 18 Aug 07

Conventional v. Convection Ovens - help!

I'm just learning how to cook and am really confused as to which type of oven I should buy. 

I've found Delia Smith's website to be reliable and very useful thusfar, and she espouses conventional ovens, rather than convection ones.  Does anybody know which type Jamie uses or prefers? 

I know that convection (by this I mean fan ovens) require less cooking time and that sounds great - but I've tried using my mum's and I don't like it.  I don't like the fact that you have to modify recipes (re cooking time) and I can never seem to get the balance right.  I make a great lasagne before it has to go into the oven!  Are modern recipe books more geared towards fan ovens? 

I'd really like your opinions and experiences regarding the best type of oven to use!

Sarah.

Likes (0)

#2 Sun 19 Aug 07 12:43am

holeys

Member since Sat 22 Oct 05

Re: Conventional v. Convection Ovens - help!

HI ya, Alice In the house we moved into it has a fan oven im personally used to a gas style one. I noticed the difference with a couple of things like making muffins and shortbread but generally i not had to reduce cooking time. Guess it’s what you used to really if you don't get on with a fan oven stick with the one you like.
Many Morden cooking books generally add fan and gas oven temperatures so don’t have to worry. Cooking books cater for all types of popular ovens.

Likes (0)

#3 Sun 19 Aug 07 2:19am

Cindy

Forum champ
Occupation Registered Nurse
From Adelaide, OZ
Member since Tue 03 Aug 04

If you have already used your mums and don't like it then go for the convention.

Likes (0)

#4 Sun 19 Aug 07 3:38am

bcrain

Forum champ
Occupation Duty Free Lancome and Fragrance sales
From Greater Vancouver
Member since Mon 23 Oct 06