forum: Food & Drink

#1 Thu 20 Mar 08 11:31pm

ANN

Forum champ
From North Carolina
Member since Thu 15 Jul 04

Happy Easter! here's one of my favorite roast recipes.

Thanks Jamie!  I've never done a roast lamb before, but want to try!   I just watched the episode of Jamie at Home on Roast lamb and it made me want to give it a go.   smile

Likes (0)

#2 Thu 20 Mar 08 11:34pm

chacha1103

Occupation High School kid
From Ottawa, Canada
Member since Tue 23 Oct 07

Re: Happy Easter! here's one of my favorite roast recipes.

Great recipe. Since you asked on the front page, I'm trying to convince my parents to let me roast some lamb buuuuttt they dont want to risk letting me cook something so monumental. Roasting a duck was fine with them but lamb NOOO. Such is life. roll  wink Thanks for the recipe and I loooooovvveeeeeee Jamie at home! Just got it as it just came out in Canada.

Cheers,
Chase

Likes (0)

#3 Thu 20 Mar 08 11:44pm

mummza

Forum super champ
Occupation avoiding housework
From The land of song.
Member since Tue 04 Oct 05

I cooked a shoulder of Welsh Lamb for my family last weekend, it was realy very tender.
Like all meat its worth buying the best that you can afford.

I am planning a trip along to the farmers market Saturday morning for a leg of Welsh Lamb as that is a traditional in our family for Easter Sunday lunch.

I have to admit that I have never thought a
of cooking a shoulder of lamb with Cranberry Juice before,
I do often put redcurrent jelly in the lamb gravy , I know that many people might think this a little odd but it realy does work.
I have also been known to put a spoonfull or two of Cranberry sauce into lamb gravy and this works well also.

and.. I have never thought about having the shoulder boned before either.. hmm  I think that if I did this I might be tempted cook the bone in the roasting tray along side the rolled joint of lamb for added flavour.

Likes (0)

#4 Fri 21 Mar 08 12:21am

GeoffP

Forum champ