Jamie Oliver

forum: Food & Drink

Subscribe to forums RSS

#1 Mon 26 May 08 9:33am

SandyM

From Sale - Victoria
Member since Thu 20 Dec 07

Simple jam recipes without all the sugar

My sister has some cumquats and plans to make her first batch of jam....and since I'm relatively new to actually enjoying cooking, I was wondering if there were some simple jam recipes out there.  If I remember correctly, Jamie made a jam on one of his shoes that used LOADS less sugar than grandma used to use. 
thanks in anticipation

Likes (0)

#2 Mon 26 May 08 11:14am

mummza

Forum super champ
Occupation avoiding housework
From The land of song.
Member since Tue 04 Oct 05

Re: Simple jam recipes without all the sugar

Welcome to the forums  smile 
What you have to remember is that the sugar in the jam acts as a preservative for the fruit content. Lower  sugared jams are (as  far as I know ) better made in smaller quantities .
Sorry I can't help you out with a recipe.

Likes (0)

#3 Mon 26 May 08 11:46am

SusanneH

Forum champ
From Germany
Member since Mon 13 Mar 06

I use jam sugars to make jams. They are basically sugar + pectin. So they gel with less sugar. For most fruit I get 3:1 (3 parts of fruit to one part of the sugar) and for very sour ones 2:1. They keep fresh for some months, but not as long as 1:1 jam sugar or just sugar - as mummza says the sugar preserves the fruit.
But I like my jam less sweet. And I don't have a garden with tons of fruit to preserve, but rather make jams for the taste of it. wink

Likes (0)

#4 Mon 26 May 08 12:52pm

The White Rabbit

Forum super champ
From Sydney, Australia
Member since Tue 22 Jun 04

As mummza said, sugar is an integral part of jam. It's what preserves the fruit for long periods originally to feed people during the winter. It's not an unhealthy food, but these days people's energy needs are different, so it's not eaten in the same quantities. Sugar isn't inherently bad for you, eating too much of food in general is.