forum: Food & Drink

Subscribe to forums RSS

#1 Mon 06 Jul 09 2:05am

hkidww

Member since Tue 30 Jun 09

Baby Octopus

Does anybody have any suggestions as to how one could cook Baby Octopus? I have never used this ingredient before and the idea came from a cookshow called CHOPPED, which I watched late last night.

Any advice would be very much appreciated. Thanks.

Wilhemina

Likes (0)

#2 Mon 06 Jul 09 1:15pm

koukouvagia

Forum champ
From New York
Member since Fri 12 Dec 08

Re: Baby Octopus

Octopus is a lot like squid in the sense that it either needs a quick cook or a lengthy stew to avoid being chewy.  I'm not a fan of baby octopus but when cooking regular octopus I blanch it quickly and then chargrill it very quickly.  Drizzle with olive oil and balsamic vinegar and serve.

Likes (0)

#3 Mon 06 Jul 09 2:36pm

Allora Andiamo

Forum champ
Occupation Double Barrel Sheila
From Sauerkraut Country
Member since Mon 06 Oct 08

i agree with koukouvagia...either long slow cooking OR a few minutes in a pan or on a griddle...you could:

stew them in an olive oil,white wine,tomato, garlic and parsley sauce

boil them with lemon slices then serve them with olive oil and lemon

seperate the main body from the tentacles, slice the body open and score the flesh (criss cross) then griddle or pan fry quickly with a little oilve oil (keep the tentacles whole)...serve with an olive oil, lemon juice and garlic dressing...a bit of chopped chilli in the dressing is nice too  big_smile

hth
Allora

Likes (0)

#4 Thu 09 Jul 09 4:34pm

Danny

Jamie Oliver Food Foundation
From Jamie's Office
Member since Tue 06 Jul 04

Hi Wilhemina

Hope all is well..... I chatted to Pete about this and here is his response: